Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/dlcak/secure_html/themes/dlc/elements/header.php on line 120

Black/WhiteLarger Text

Click if you need help


Additional Information

Protection and Advocacy

For People with Developmental Disabilities (PADD)

People eligible for DLC services under the DD Act are individuals who meet the following criteria:

  1. Infants up to age five (5) who have a substantial developmental delay or specific congenital or acquired conditions with a high probability of resulting in developmental disabilities if services are not provided.
  2. Persons aged five (5) and older who have a developmental disability that is severe, chronic AND
    1. Is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or combination of mental and physical impairments
    2. AND
    3. Is manifested before the person attains the age of twenty-two (22)
    4. AND
    5. Is likely to continue indefinitely
    6. AND
    7. Reflects the person's need for a combination and sequence of special, interdisciplinary, or generic care, treatment, or other services which are of life-long or extended duration and are individually planned and coordinated
    8. AND
    9. Results in substantial functional limitations in three (3) or more of the following areas of major life activity:
  1. Self-Care: Daily activities that enable a person to meet age appropriate basic life needs such as: food, hygiene, appearance, health, and immediate personal safety.
  2. Receptive and Expressive Language: Communication involving both verbal and non-verbal behavior enabling the individual both to understand others and to express ideas and information to others. This usually includes reading, writing, listening, and speaking.
  3. Learning: General cognitive competence and ability to acquire new behavior, perceptions, and information and to apply experiences in new situations.
  4. Mobility: Ability of the individual to negotiate distance using his/her own power or a personally controlled device. This ability implies motor development and the ability to use fine and gross motor skills.
  5. Self-Direction: Management and control over one's social and personal life. Ability to make independent decisions affecting and protecting one's own interests.
  6. Capacity for Independent Living: Ability to maintain a full and varied life in the community with little or no regular outside intervention in the living situation.
  7. Economic Self-Sufficiency: An individual's ability to earn financial resources to meet both basic life support and recreational needs.

DLC TV More Videos


Need Help?

About DLC


Get Involved

Contact Us

Email DLC Now >

3330 Arctic Blvd, Suite 103
Anchorage, AK 99503

Phone: 1.800.478.1234
Fax: 907.565.1000